5 Minute Chicken and Rice

This is a meal that I make pretty much every week. It takes me 5 minutes, has only 5 ingredients, and leaves us with leftovers for lunch.  On top of all that it tastes like “comfort food” – aka “it keeps me full for hours”.

Let’s get to it.  Here are the 5 ingredients I use.  You can definitely play around with this and make it more your style – different veggies, seasonings, or toppings.  I like to keep it simple, so I use:

  • 1 bag frozen chicken breasts
  • 1 bunch of celery
  • 1 bag of baby carrots
  • 1 jar of salsa verde
  • 1 cup of brown rice

Here’s a step by step visual:

I dump everything in the slow cooker except for the rice.  I add later – generally about 2 hours before its done.  Cook on high for 4 hours, or low for 8 hours.  I do not  pre-cook the chicken, or cook the rice separately.  It all just gets tossed in and cooks together.  I also don’t add any water when I use frozen chicken.  I find that the juice from the chicken provides enough liquid for my liking.  It turns into a thick stew consistency.  If you want a more soup-like meal, add broth or water at the start of the cooking process.

And there ya have it – dinner is done and so is lunch for the next few days.  I like to top mine with avocado and more salsa or hot sauce.  The reason this meal works so well is because it’s a blank canvas for whatever you want to add.  Everyone in the family can top it with what they like and have a healthy, filling meal that only took 5 MINUTES to put together!

If you do not have a slow cooker, I am sorry.  You should get one, immediately.  You could also make this stove-top style, but why would you?  🙂  Just kidding, do you…but you’ll spend a lot longer than 5 minutes on this.

 

chicken

I never said it was a visually appealing dish.  But it is delicious.

Posted on March 25, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

