Protein Oatmeal

I recently got a little tired of eating eggs and toast for breakfast every day, so I decided to switch it up with some oatmeal.  I didn’t want to sacrifice the protein at the start of my day, so I tweaked a few recipes I saw online, and this is what I ended up with.  5 ingredients (not including toppings), less than 10 minutes, and I stay full for a good 3-4 hours.  Winner!

ATT_1438124835725_20150717_085754

Pictured is the basic recipe, with 1/2 cup of blueberries and 2 Tbsp whipped strawberry cream cheese.

 

Those Quaker packets of strawberries and cream and peaches and cream were my JAM back in the day – so I use my fillings to create something that tastes very similar, but without loads of sugar.  I also really love fresh peaches + cream cheese.

 

ATT_1438124958681_20150717_084847

1/3 cup unsweetened almond milk

1/3 cup oats

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

2/3 cup egg whites

Dash of cinnamon (optional)

Toppings of your choice (I’ve tried fruit, cream cheese, agave or honey, peanut/almond butter, dried fruit, chopped nuts, and coconut flakes)

Place oats, applesauce, almond milk, and cinnamon in a pan over medium heat.  Let it come to a light boil (oats softening), and then add egg whites.  Whisk frequently until cooked to your desired consistency – about 3-5 min for me.  Pour, top, and enjoy!


ATT_1438124904902_20150717_085319

 

Basic (no toppings / add-ins) recipe nutrition facts:

155 cals / 18 gms protein / 13 gms carbs / 2 gms fat

Posted on July 30, 2015, in Recipe, recovery, Training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

