5 Ingredient Egg Casserole

20141111_122019

Ingredients:

Trader Joe’s Spicy Jalapeno Chicken Sausage (5 sausages, cut into bite sized pieces)
12 eggs
2 cups cubed sweet potatoes (pre-cooked)
3 handfuls spinach
2 cups sliced mushrooms
*salt, pepper, crushed red pepper flakes

20141111_12281820141111_133934

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees.  Sweet potatoes, mushrooms, spinach, and chicken sausages go into the pan first.  Add salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to the eggs before whisking them, and pour that on top of the meat and veggies.  Bake for about an hour, or until the eggs are fully cooked.

Nutrition Facts (12 servings):
149 cals / 7.6 fat / 8.8 carb / 12.1 protein

The beauty of this recipe is that it can be thrown together in less than 10 minutes.  I made this last week when I was too lazy to prepare these foods separately.  Why make sausages, veggies, eggs, and potatoes when you can just dump them all in the same pan and have leftovers for later in the week?!

I also like the fact that the chicken sausages are pre-cooked, so there’s not need to worry about the chicken being done.  I have used pre-cooked sweet potato cubes every time I made this, but that is only because I cook a large batch at the start of the week to have on hand.  I’m sure using raw sweet potatoes would work just fine, as long as they are cut into small pieces.

I know some people like egg muffins, and this recipe could easily be adapted to work that way also.  Be creative – any meat / veggie / egg combination would be delicious.  I like the kick that the jalapeno sausages provide, along with the red pepper flakes.  I also want to try combinations like ham + broccoli, spinach + artichoke, chorizo + tomato, and kale + bacon.

20141111_134217

I realize I’m not reinventing the wheel here with an egg casserole (nor am I food photographer, obviously) but thought I’d share something that has made my life a little easier lately.  Having this in the fridge means I’m less likely to rely on protein bars and shakes for at breakfast and lunch.  It’s easy for me to get in the rut with those convenient options, and I’ve been trying to use more “real food” for nutrients lately.

If you come up with any other amazing combinations for an egg casserole, please share!

-Mal

 

Posted on November 13, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

