No Equipment, No Problem

I’ve received some requests over the past few weeks for “outside the gym” exercise ideas. These ideas could apply to anyone, whether you are going back to school, traveling for work, or adjusting your schedule to your kids’ school activities.

I tend to rely on two forms of exercise when I’m not at the gym – running and yoga. No matter where I am, those two activities are usually available. When I travel for work, I look for yoga studios in the area and try to sneak in a class. I also turn to YouTube for yoga videos, even at home. I’ll search “40 min yoga series” and pick whatever looks best. If that doesn’t work out, I’ll do some intervals on the treadmill at the hotel fitness center, or even run outside if the area is nice. You might not be able to arrange your schedule to make it to the gym, but the great outdoors is always there. Walk/jog, run intervals, or just keep a nice steady pace for 30 min or so. It doesn’t need to be fancy to get the job done.

running shoes

There are plenty of exercises you can do at home that require minimal (or no) equipment. Squats, lunges, split jumps, walking RDL, pistols, back extensions, planks, sit ups, Turkish get ups, push-ups, pull-ups, dips, handstands, burpees, dumbbell or kettle bell swings, double unders, ect. I could go on, but I think you get the point. Get creative with what you have access to. I’ve done double unders in a hotel room and pull-ups on playground equipment –no shame in my game.

jump rope

I suggest putting together a few short workouts with set rest in between. You could also plan a workout around a skill you want to improve, like double unders or pistols. For example, here is a workout I’ve done at home:

Minutes 1-3, on the minute: 5 dumbbell swings, 5 burpees, 5 air squats

Minutes 4-6, on the minute: 6 dumbbell swings, 6 burpees, 6 air squats

Minutes 7-9, on the minute: 7 dumbbell swings, 7 burpees, 7 air squats

Minute 10, on the minute: 10 dumbbell swings, 10 burpees, 10 air squats

I took about 4 minutes to catch my breath, and then worked on handstand holds for another ten minutes or so. The focus of these workouts is to get your heart rate up. Save the strength training and higher skill movements for the gym.

My best advice is this – break a sweat each day for at least 20 min, and get to the gym a few times a week for strength training. Consistency is key here, so carve out some time each day to move. You’re body will thank you.  

-Mal

Posted on August 11, 2014, in Training. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

